Vegan by Nature

inherent recipes from a passionate cook

Daring Bakers: Steamed Pudding!!

The April 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Esther of The Lilac Kitchen. She challenged everyone to make a traditional British pudding using, if possible, a very traditional British ingredient: suet.

For my vegan, wheat free version of this pudding I took this recipe http://www.scarlettdesign.co.uk/go-vegan/pudding.html and made a few alterations.I omitted the hazelnuts, dates and date syrup. Instead I popped in some agave, fresh raspberries, spelt flour and cranberry jam in the centre.

The steaming contraption:

My puddings took slightly longer to cook than the recipe suggests but I think this is simple characteristic of my oven. That aside, it produced a lovely, fluffy pudding with just the right amount of cocoa to compliment the sharp raspberries. Do give it a go!

3 Comments»

  s wrote @

Great idea ,,very innovative..Loved that u made a bite sized pudding
http://forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com

  Joanna wrote @

Nom, Nom, Nom… your pudding looks so tasty! Mmmm, chocolate and raspberry… beautiful combination! Way to go on this month’s challenge and keep up the awesome bakes!

  Esther wrote @

Those look very good. I am glad you enjoyed it.


Leave a comment