Vegan by Nature

inherent recipes from a passionate cook

Daring Baker’s Rose and Almond Profiteroles :)

The May 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Cat of Little Miss Cupcake. Cat challenged everyone to make a piece montée, or croquembouche, based on recipes from Peter Kump’s Baking School in Manhattan and Nick Malgieri.

This was some challenge. I tell you I broke into a sweat during the cooking process as I wanted so much for these little mamas to have a hole in the centre! I began with this recipe http://www.noveleats.com/daringbakers/vegan-chocolate-eclairs/. I found I had to add 1/2 tbsp more of ener-g and in the end could have incorporated a good deal more sweetness.

I also froze the pate a choux before baking to increase the space between the marg and the batter. I did get holes! A little more cakey than pastry but for a first time even I was impressed!

The cream filling was based on a lovely piping cream recipe from this old book I have to which I added almond flavouring to one and rosewater and raspberry puree to the other. I can share this recipe if you’d like. It’s fail safe.

1 Comment»

  Anthony wrote @

Hi

I have been trying to make profiteroles but just substituting the eggs and butter but not very successfully. I would be keen to try your recipe if you don’t mind sharing it. My wife loves profiteroles so I would love to try to use your recipe which make her very happy.

Thanks very much looking forward in anticipation


Leave a Reply

